Schloss Niederweiden

The palace

In 1725 Prince Eugene of Savoy purchased a seventeenth-century citadel with four wings and had it extended by two wings to surround the resulting Ehrenhof, the parade courtyard. Maria Theresa purchased the country seat thirty years later, in 1755. The castle underwent radical changes between 1773 and 1775; the building was raised one storey and the rooms on the first floor remodelled.


The grounds of Schloss Hof Estate extend across seventy hectares in eastern Lower Austria. The resplendent ensemble consisting of a two-storey palace, the gardens and the estate farm is of outstanding significance in the history of art and culture.

More History

Tour of the castle

Each room harbours fascinating and unique features, vividly reflecting the joie de vivre of the eighteenth century.

Take a Tour

Further Reading